Daily Archives: July 11, 2016

2016-07-11 “Japanese summer is the armpit of Satan “

Week 42:

We visited Fu a recent convert who recently moved into our ward. Had some basic Italian food, (I miss good Italian food) and we taught the gospel of Jesus Christ to him. He understands and believes a lot, it’s awesome. I talked about how hard enduring to the end is and he agreed. He related it to how he didn’t have internet for a month. He was growing impatient and plotting how to kill his internet providers. He is hilarious.

 

Tuesday we had to travel to Honbu (mission home) for trainers training meeting. Had a nice cold shower, beautified myself making sure I look shmick for the day. Walked outside to the bike racks and Otsu had a flat tyre. We were going to be late for the train so I gave Otsu my bike, ran for 50 meters, thought to myself “nope.”, stopped running and walked quickly to the train station for the next train. Forgot to mention Japanese summer is the armpit of satan in the middle of hell, so I was dripping in my own sweat within the first 10 meters of running. If you have seen the before and after photo shots of people who take meth. That was me before I left the apartment and when I got to the train station. Overall the meto was good fun, got to see a lot of missionary friends say goodbye to some who are going home next week. Got back at the apartment around 10pm. Local trains are the devil.

 

Wednesday we had an appointment with a less active. It was a long lesson. The overview is pretty much, 1. They know gods plan even the unwritten laws and unspoken laws (that have not been revealed or only revealed to the prophet). 2. Is living the higher law (even the original 10 commandments) 3. Joseph smith is a fallen prophet. I like talking to them and hearing their opinion and being able to testify and reaffirm my faith. I hope they get answers to their questions, but, there is not much we as missionaries can do for their situation. 10/10 would meet again. After the appointment we fixed Otsu bike and went with Tomonari to a ramen restaurant. The oiliest, fattest, mammoth of a bowl and chicken breast laid in front of me. I just had Yakiniku (Korean BBQ) for lunch and now I need to tackle this garlic ramen. It was show time. As a result I got through 3/4 of it before it got to the point where every bite made me want to regurgitate. After we taught him about prayer and the Holy Ghost. He gets easily distracted so we don’t know how much we teach he understands or hears. So we have to take it slow and repeat a lot. For example we finished teaching and asked if he had any questions. He had questions but the related to how he wanted to start a business in Japan and have Elder Tallent (my previous companion) to make a joint business in America and for me to do the same in Australia. Told him I would have to think about that one through prayer, and proceeded to teach again.

 

Thursday I had a companion exchange with the zone leaders. As district leaders we go on 1 exchange for each elder in our district. And the zone leaders go on 1 exchange for each district leader in the district. I had the pleasure of working with elder McClellan. A transfer 14 missionary. Fun fact he was district leader here in Numazu with elder Tallent before I came into Numazu to take his place. So he got to go back to his old stomping grounds. We taught Fu again as he won’t be able to meet for a month with us. We started teaching the commandments. He is keeping them which is good but he still needs some work on a variety of other things. After we had Eikaiwa (free English class) and not much happened except I interview a few people to evaluate their English level. They have improved so much!

 

Friday was DTM and elder Day (my first district leader) is going home on Tuesday, so it was his last DTM. We talked about the Atonement where I used the example if having someone do a 10 push-ups for anyone who wanted a chocolate or didn’t want a chocolate. The zone leaders came to ours due to the exchange the day before, so I got one of the zone leaders, Elder Burns (who I had my first exchange with as a missionary) to do 110 push-ups on a row. It was fun to watch. After DTM we all went to Indo curry for district activity. Chowed down a feast of Indian food. So good. Then we had weekly planning.

 

Saturday we visited a less active who was not home and then went to a part member family and taught about the restoration. But it derailed too much so we focused just about prayer. The husband is not e member and has no interest. The first time I met them with Elder Tallent, the husband didn’t say a word. We said hello to him and he said hey back but that was it. Now after meeting with Jessa (the wife who is a member) for a while, we walk in and he says hello to us and shakes hands and participates sometimes. It’s awesome.  We had transfer called that night and Otsu and I are both staying, which we both saw. That means I will be in Numazu for 4 transfers. So I will most likely be transferring in 6 weeks’ time. But, we never know.

 

Sunday was pretty normal. Hiromi, one of our investigators came for gospel principles class. We were teaching about missionary work using the story of Ammon. Said that Hiromi is a fantastic missionary because she helps translate and teach her friend Yuko (who recently became an investigator) about our church. She really enjoyed that. Elder quorums actually taught about some doctrine for a little bit. Last week was spent just teaching me Japanese words. This week they taught elders quorum and then taught me Japanese. After we visited Chikara ishi San, who didn’t come to his appointment last week. So we 100% confirmed that today is still okay with him and he said ok. We got to his home and no one answered. In Japan you can say “Gomen Kudasai” which means please excuse me, and that gives you the magical right to open someone’s door and walk right in. So I did that and found him sleeping on his bed. Either one he is super heavy sleeper or two he loves sake. So we let him be and visited a bunch of investigators, members, formers around the area. That night we rushed every apartment complex and house near by jamming Eikaiwa flyers into the mail boxes.

 

Spiritual thought.

This is what I learnt in regards to what we spoke in DTM. Please read Elder Dallin H. Oaks’ October 2015 vernal conference talk “strengthen by the atonement of Jesus Christ.”

D&C.88:6  “He that ascended up on high, as also he descended below all things, in that he comprehended all things, that he might be in all and through all things, the light of truth;” We might even say that having descended beneath it all, He is perfectly positioned to lift us and give us the strength we need to endure our afflictions. We have only to ask.

D&C 122. There is three things that are evident to me in this chapter. One. Our trials and tribulations no matter how small or extreme, is to give us experience and to learn. Two. Our Saviour Jesus Christ has suffered everything possible “are thou greater than he?” God told Joseph smith, who was in the pit stain of trials right now, to suck it up. 3. He provided comfort to him, as he does for us and also reminded him and to everyone “fear not, I am with the forever.

“…above all, if the very jaws of hell shall gape open the mouth wide after thee, know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good. The Son of Man hath descended below them all. Art thou greater than he?…therefore, fear not what man can do, for God shall be with you forever and ever.”

 

Stay strong and when discourage just sing “How Firm a Foundation”

I never really payed attention to the lyrics in Hymns. Mainly because they are (were) boring to me. But they are Ballin!

 

Photo 1: It was filthy good.

one

Photo 2: Elder day and Sister Rogers last DTM. They go home to Murica in roughly 24-38 hours.

2 13613575_10154404917160929_2452062913335201982_o

Naturally we had to make a Throne for Elder Day. (It’s a joke that we have in our district. Elder Days father served in the same area he is in now for over a year. The members worship Elder Day.)

Categories: Numazu | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.